Let's make your home your own museum.

Harwood Steiger

I am both proud, and extremely humbled, to have been chosen to show the “witty, imaginative” watercolors of WPA-era artist Harwood Steiger (quotes belong to Emily Genauer of the New York World-Telegram, September 15, 1934).

I am presently sifting through a large pile of newspaper clippings and gallery announcements from 1929 through 1991, and am having an absolute ball piecing back together the life of an artist who was considered part of the modern movement in New York.  The Whitney in New York felt his work was worthy of adding to their permanent collection, along with choosing him for their Biennial in the 1930’s.  Mr. Steiger was also included in the 1939 Brooklyn Museum Biennial, showing next to such artists as Thomas Hart Benton, Charles Burchfield, Edward Hopper, and Stuart Davis.

I know, name-dropping can be petty and ugly, but it is also very useful in getting a point across; that point being that Harwood Steiger was recognized as having the same quality of composition, vision, and execution exhibited by many of the artists that have come to represent the 1930’s and 40’s in the mind of the current art collector.

Canal in Brooklyn, by Harwood Steiger

Canal in Brooklyn, by Harwood Steiger

7 responses

  1. Arch Van Meter

    Nice Kipniss oil. I have one about the same size titled “Rolling Landscape” I have had it for about 30 years. I have never stop enjoying the art. Do you have any idea what these are worth in a good art market?

    Best Regards,
    Arch

    April 2, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    • Hello, and thanks for writing. I’m pleased to meet another Kipniss fan. You ask a tough question – I’ve forgotten what a good art market even looks like! I’m not an appraiser, but I’ve been told by several Kipniss experts that our oil, if sold in Kipniss’ main San Francisco gallery in a good economy, would fetch $27,000 to $30,000. I’ve sold works of his about 1/4 the size for around $8,000, so that estimate does seem within reason. We are asking $18,500 for ours, so as you can see this is a great time to buy if you have the means.

      I hope you continue to enjoy your painting, and do let me know if you’d like to add another to your collection.
      -Nathan

      April 2, 2009 at 8:19 pm

  2. kayla gaynor

    iI HAVE A HARWOOD STEIGER MATERIAL APPROX. 2 YARDS IT IS A PRETTY GREEN WITH 2 ROAD RUNNERS AND CACTUS EXCELLENT COND. WHAT IS THIS WORTH? PLEASE REPLY, THANK YOU KAYLA

    June 19, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    • Hi Kayla,
      Thanks for writing. The fabrics are from such a different part of Harwood’s career and life, that I honestly don’t know very much about them. I’ve talked to other people that have bought some of Harwood’s fabric design for about $6 a yard, but it seems to me that the value should be much higher than that simply based upon the fact that he is no longer producing them.

      Sorry my answer isn’t terribly helpful. I’d say your best bet is to hang onto the fabric for quite awhile. His watercolors are having a resurgence of popularity, so it follows that the fabrics may increase in value as well.

      -Nathan

      June 20, 2009 at 5:26 am

  3. Vicki Bailey

    I am Harwood Steiger’s great neice. I helped my grandmother close up Uncle Harwoods’ shop a few years ago, when she was no longer able to keep it going. We donated all of his screens and many of his tools to the American Textile History Museum. I am just interested in knowing that others are enjoying his talent.

    September 27, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    • Lesley Bailey

      Is it possible to buy any of your great uncle’s notecards or fabric anymore? I really loved his shop in Tubac and didn’t realize it was closing until it was gone.

      April 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  4. Cynthia

    I am developing a book on Harwood Steiger textiles and would love to be in touch with all who have an interest. I have been photographing examples from collectors in Tubac, Tucson and Phoenix over the last several months and am amazed at the variety and the loyalty of his fans. Please be in touch: mrssydow@cox.net

    February 19, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Leave a comment